BlackLiquid Forums
Fatal Access Violation! - Printable Version

+- BlackLiquid Forums (https://www.blackliquidsoftware.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Banished General (https://www.blackliquidsoftware.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Questions, Help & Support (https://www.blackliquidsoftware.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Fatal Access Violation! (/showthread.php?tid=585)

Pages: 1 2

Fatal Access Violation! - Endo-Chick - 05-20-2017

Hi,

I am pretty new to this mod and am currently really enjoying it. I have also installed it on my laptop for my mum to play but she keeps experiencing an error which I can't seem to find a fix for.

The error - "A fatal Access Violation has occurred in Application-steam-x64.exe and the game cannot continue."

It saves a crash dump to the banished folder but when I open it with notepad++, it just shows a load of weird symbols that doesn't make any sense. 

I have found similar errors around the net but nothing that says exactly what she has been experiencing.  I have tried the following to fix the issue but so far nothing has worked.

• Change the Regedit VideoInterface to 0

• Uninstalled and reinstalled the mod and the game several times. 

• Forced the game to load in DirectX9

• Played the game without any internet and disabled anti-virus. - This one worked for a bit longer than other times and a colleague of mine said this fixed it for him.

• Loaded game without Steam

• I have one more thing I haven't tried yet. Sometimes when she launches the game through steam or just via the .exe she has another launch window that sometime's opened. It doesn't seem to have a pattern as to when it will show up. I have read that this could also cause a problem and to turn it off but unfortunately, it's not something I can test. On this window, she can select whether to run the game in DX9 or 11 and a few other things.