BlackLiquid Forums
And so, it begins.... - Printable Version

+- BlackLiquid Forums (https://www.blackliquidsoftware.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Banished General (https://www.blackliquidsoftware.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=6)
+--- Forum: Questions, Help & Support (https://www.blackliquidsoftware.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: And so, it begins.... (/showthread.php?tid=1440)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5

And so, it begins.... - Trasd - 12-10-2016

As I promised in my introduction, I will have a lot of questions, and so, it begins....

I am completely new to Banished, <abbr title="Colonial Charter">CC</abbr>, and the entire builder\resource management game genre.  So far, I've had about 5 false starts, mostly with the vanilla game, but a couple with <abbr title="Colonial Charter">CC</abbr> as well.  My last restart was because I couldn't find the fishery (which I found later, not realizing at first that the menu had more sub-menus).  This leads to my first question:

As a newb (sorry, but I find "noob" derogatory), should I begin with the vanilla version or <abbr title="Colonial Charter">CC</abbr> (I cannot run the MegaMod on my laptop)?

To help me start, I checked out <a contenteditable="false" data-ipshover="" data-ipshover-target="<___base_url___>/index.php?/profile/4-shockpuppet/&do=hovercard" data-mentionid="4" href="<___base_url___>/index.php?/profile/4-shockpuppet/">@ShockPuppet</a>'s Getting Started thread.  That was a bust (no disrespect towards ShockPuppet as I completely understand and sympathize with time restrictions and project priority).  I also read somewhere on the internet that there was a "Getting Started" PDF on the old site, but I was never able to confirm this statement.  This leads to my second question:

Can someone point me to a good "Getting Started" resource (I don't do well with videos, BTW, preferring text I can refer to later)?

Lastly: